IPL 2022: Gujarat Titans win toss, elect to bowl against Lucknow Super Giants

Gujarat Titans won the toss and elected to bowl first against Lucknow Super Giants in their maiden IPL match at the Wankhede Stadium here on Monday.

Gujarat Titans skipper Hardak Pandya said one of the reasons he decided to bowl first was the dew that is likely to play a role in the match.

“It’s the first game, we want to see how the wicket plays,” Hardik said at the toss. “Also, the dew is a factor. One thing which is very clear is we are going to give all the guys full freedom, play freely and enjoy.”

Pandya said the four overseas players that they have picked for this match are Lockie Ferguson, Matthew Wade, Rashid Khan, and David Miller.

Lucknow skipper KL Rahul said he, too, would have chosen to bowl first if he had won the toss.

“At Wankhede everyone wants to bowl first as dew plays a big part,” said Rahul. “The wicket remains the same throughout. We get to set a legacy at a new franchise. Everyone comes with a fresh mindset and wants to give their best. We have got three overseas players, Evin Lewis, Quinton de Kock and Dushmantha Chameera.”


Gujarat Titans: Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade (wk), Vijay Shankar, Abhinav Manohar, Hardik Pandya (c), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Varun Aaron, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami

Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Evin Lewis, Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Mohsin Khan, Ayush Badoni, Dushmantha Chameera, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here