It’s Yeddyurappa versus Siddaramaiah in Karnataka assembly polls

Views: 57

New Delhi, May 31 (IANS) The Congress on Wednesday announced it will contest the upcoming assembly elections in Karnataka under the leadership of Chief Minister K. Siddaramaiah, even as the BJP has declared former Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa as the party’s chief ministerial face.

The Congress party has retained G. Parameshwara as the Karnataka unit President and asked him to resign from the state cabinet immediately.

“He (Parameshwara) will continue to be the PCC President…to devote his full time and energy in discharging responsibilities of the party president, he will resign from the state cabinet immediately,” said an AICC statement released by party General Secretary Janardan Dwivedi.

The statement said that K.H. Muniyappa, MP and former union minister, had been included in the Congress Working Committee as a special invitee.

ALSO READ:   Crew members rescued from container ship reaches Bengal's Haldia port

Satish Jarkiholi has been appointed a Secretary of the All India Congress Committee (AICC).

According to the statement, S.R. Patil will be the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) working President, along with present working President Dinesh Gundurao.

“Gundurao will look after the party affairs of southern Karnataka and S.R. Patil of northern Karnataka,” it added.

D.K. Shivakumar, a minister in the present state cabinet, will be the Chairman of the campaign committee for the coming assembly election.

Karnataka will go to polls in mid 2018.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *