Major winners in assembly elections

Views: 53

New Delhi, March 11 (IANS) Following is the list of major winners in the 2017 assembly elections in five states:

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, 89, won Lambi assembly seat by a margin of over 22,000 votes defeating the Congress party’s chief ministerial candidate Amarinder Singh.

Amarinder Singh won Patiala-Urban constituency by 52,407 votes defeating his Aam Aadmi Party rival Balbir Singh.

Outgoing Punjab Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal won Jalalabad seat by 18,500 votes and defeated AAP’s Bhagwant Singh Mann.

Congress’ Navjot Singh Sidhu won Amritar (East) seat by 42,809 votes and defeated a BJP candidate.

Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh of the Congress party won in Thoubal constituency comfortably by over 15,000 votes. Rights activist Irom Sharmila, who was also contesting from Thoubal, got fewer than 90 votes.

ALSO READ:   Three fresh cases of banking fraud reported

In Uttar Pradesh, the Samajwadi Party’s Shivpal Yadav won by 52,616 votes from Jaswantnagar seat.

The SP’s Azam Khan won by 46,842 votes from Rampur and defeated a BJP candidate.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh’s son and BJP candidate from Noida Pankaj Singh won by 1,04,016 votes and defeated the SP’s Sunil Choudhary.

The BJP’s Rita Bahuguna Joshi defeated Mulayam Singh Yadav’s daughter-in-law Aparna Yadav by 33,796 votes in the Lucknow cantonment constituency.

BJP National Secretary Siddharth Nath Singh won from Allahabad (West) defeating the SP candidate by 25,336 votes.

The BSP’s gangster-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari won by 86,98 votes.

Garima Singh of the BJP defeated Gayatri Prasad Prajapati of the SP by a margin of 5,065 votes in Amethi Sadar seat. Amita Singh of the Congress was at third spot.

ALSO READ:   Alphons rubbishes Rahul allegation that BJP trying to 'buy' churches

Independent candidate Aman Mani Tripathi won Nautanwa seat by defeating his nearest rival the SP’s Kunwar Kaushal Kishore Singh by a margin of 32,256 votes.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *