Canindia News

Naidu constitutes standing committees; Jha to head ethics panel

New Delhi, Oct 31 (IANS) Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu constituted 8 House committees on Thursday with Prabhat Jha of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) named as head of the ethics committee, which looks into plaints on conduct of House members.

T. Subarami Reddy (Congress) has been appointed chairman of the subordinate legislation committee, and Prasanna Acharya (BJD) chairman of the petitions committee. It was earlier headed by Jha.

As per rules, the Rajya Sabha Chairman heads the business advisory committee and the Deputy Chairman the privileges committee.

Om Prakash Mathur (BJP) will head the accommodation committee.

The Chairman appointed B.K. Hariprasad Vinay Sahasrabudhe (Congress) and Narayan Lal Panchariya (BJP) and K. Keshava Rao (TRS) as members of the business advisory committee. Leader of the House and Opposition are special invitees to this committee.

The new members of the committee on rules are Satya Narayan Jatiya, Swapan Dasgupta and Y.S. Chowdary (all BJP), P.L. Punia (Congress), Naresh Gujral (Akali Dal), and Subhash Chandra and Amar Singh (Independents).

The committee will have one-year tenure.




Panel submits report on VVPAT slip counting

High-level selection panel meet inconclusive on new CBI chief choice

Trinamool stages protest over notice to Durga Puja committees

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More