Nine rebel Congress leaders to join BJP

Views: 83

New Delhi, May 18 (IANS) The nine disqualified rebel Congress legislators of Uttarakhand whose shifting loyalty led to a political upheaval in the hill state are to join the BJP.

“All the nine rebel Congress leaders will join the BJP at the party headquarters in the presence of senior leaders,” a BJP leader said on Wednesday.

This was decided at a meeting of the Uttarakhand BJP core group leaders with BJP president Amit Shah.

The meeting was attended by BJP general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya, former Uttarakhand chief ministers Bhagat Singh Koshyari, Ramesh Pokharial Nishank, and senior leader Satpal Maharaj, among others.

The nine rebel Congress leaders were barred from voting in the floor test.

Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal had disqualified the nine, led by former chief minister Vijay Bahuguna.

ALSO READ:   This child drummer holds seven world records

They had challenged their disqualification earlier in the Nainital High Court and then in Supreme Court but didn’t get any relief.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *