Reddy, Chinappa shine at national racing tourney

Views: 65

Sriperumbudur (Tamil Nadu), July 22 (IANS) Anindith Reddy from Hyderabad kept his wits about him after a bad start to post a fine win in the MRF FF1600 race as did Bengalurus Deepak Paul Chinnappa who scripted his third consecutive victory in the premier Indian Touring Cars class at the Indian National Racing Championship at the MMRT track here on Saturday.

While Reddy made the best of the opportunities that came his way to move from third to first, Chinnappa, after easing past pole-sitter and defending champion Arjun Narendran, maintained a consistent pace for a well deserved win.

Also tasting victories on the day were A.S. Prabhu in the Indian Junior Touring Cars class, teammate Sudanand Rajan and Deepak Ravi Kumar in the Super Stock category after original winner Varun Anekar was docked a 30-second penalty for ‘dangerous driving’.

ALSO READ:   Buttler's masterclass helps England whitewash Australia

Rookies dominated the Formula LGB 1300 class race with Kolkata schoolboy Arya Singh finishing ahead of Pune’s Aanjan Patodia and Yash Aradhya from Bengaluru. Arya, only 16, had won the Student Cup on Friday.

South African guest driver Devin Robertson drove a near-flawless race to win the MRF MMSC Volkswagen Ameo Cup race comfortably ahead of Delhi’s Karminder Singh and A. Sandeep Kumar (Chennai). Robertson enjoyed an untroubled outing leaving the rest to battle for minor positions.

Reddy, after slipping to third at the start of the eight-lap race, managed to fight his way back into the lead after front-runner Raghul Ramaswamy was docked a drive-through penalty for jump start and Chetan Korada ran wide. Reddy then hung on to the slender lead to win from Chennai lads Korada and Sandeep Kumar.

ALSO READ:   Gold medals for Ajit, Kamalraj at Asian Junior Athletics



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *