Canindia News

Sanjay Kumar is BJP’s Telangana unit chief

Hyderabad, March 11 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday appointed Bandi Sanjay Kumar as its new president of the Telangana unit.

Party’s national president J.P. Nadda appointed Kumar as the state party chief. A member of Lok Sabha from Karimnagar, Kumar succeeds K. Laxman.

Sanjay Kumar, who is one of the four BJP MPs from Telangana, served in various positions in Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and was also associated with Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS).

Though the party circles had believed that the central leadership will continue Laxman as the state party chief, it preferred to bring a new face to lead the party.

Another party MP Dharampuri Arvind, former minister D.K. Aruna and former MP Jithender Reddy were the other aspirants for the post.

In 2019 election, Sanjay Kumar had defeated senior leader of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) B. Vinod Kumar in Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency.

Hailing from Karimnagar district, the 48-year-old is a leader from backward classes. He had twice unsuccessfully contested for Telangana Assembly.

His appointment as the Telangana unit chief is seen as crucial for achieving the party’s goal to emerge as an alternative to TRS.




Ravi Kishan wants separate Censor Board for Bhojpuri films

Sushant case: ED raids 4 locations linked to filmmaker Dinesh Vijan

15% of start-ups have halted operations due to Covid

DMK calls for inputs for 2021 poll manifesto from party men

More recoveries than new corona cases in Telangana

Cong leader detained for provoking woman to immolate herself

ISL: Mumbai City FC sign defender Mandar Rao Dessai

Tejashwi throws the gauntlet to Nitish for poll battle

Bharti AXA sharpens focus on pure protection with increased security options

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More


Stay up to date with the latest news and exclusive offers directly in your inbox