Canindia News

Trinamool forms panel for upcoming elections

Kolkata, March 3 (IANS) Trinamool Congress on Sunday set the ball rolling for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls in West Bengal by announcing a 12-member committee to focus on the modalities of election campaign and screen the applications of aspiring candidates.

“Today, All India Trinamool Congress under the leadership of Mamata Banerjee, cleared a 12-member committee for the ensuing parliamentary election 2019 for West Bengal,” party secretary general and state Education Minister Partha Chatterjee told reporters here.

The panel includes Trinamool all India general secretary Subrata Bakshi, parliamentary party leader Derek O’Brien, Mamata Banerjee’s nephew and Lok Sabha member Abhishek Banerjee, and state ministers Chatterjee, Firhad Hakim, Aroop Biswas, Suvendu Adhikari, Moloy Ghatak, Jyotipriya Mallick and Subrata Mukherjee.

Two women leaders Chandrima Bhattacharya and Shashi Panja, both ministers, also figure in the committee.

“The committee will discuss the modalities of the election campaign and screen applicatins from aspiring candidates in consultation party chairperson Mamata Banerjee,” Chatterjee said.

He said the committee will discuss issues related to the welfare of the state, keeping in mind the campaigning tactics used by BJP.

“Sometimes they take out a bike rally, sometimes they spread tension and create ruckus. Today in the name of ‘Vijay Sankalp’ they have planned to create communal tension against which we urge the people to remain united,” he said.

He said the administration will strongly oppose all such efforts of spreading communal violence and as a political party, Trinamool will ensure peace and harmony in the state.



Related posts

Asthma on rise in India, says expert

Congress linked Hindus with terror: Pragya

GST Council to decide when GST can be levied on petroleum products: Government

Leave a Comment