Two IUML MPs unable to vote as they arrived late

Views: 27

New Delhi, Aug 5 (IANS) Two Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) MPs from Kerala on Saturday could not vote in the vice presidential election as they arrived late at the polling booth in Parliament House.

The two MPs are P.K. Kunhalikutty (Lok Sabha) and Abdul Wahab (Rajya Sabha). They arrived shortly after the close of voting at 5 p.m.

“We were coming from Kozhikode and the connecting flight was from Mumbai which got delayed due to technical snag. By the time we reached Delhi airport, it was 4.35 p.m. We reached Parliament House about 10 minutes late,” Wahab told IANS.

Apart from these two MPs, Union Minister Vijay Goel and former Union Minister Sanwar Lal Jat also could not vote because they are indisposed and admitted to hospital.

ALSO READ:   BJP leaders will need security to escape traders' wrath : AAP

BJP’s Rajya Sabha member Bhushan Lal Jangde was also among the 14 members who could not turn up for voting.

In all, 771 of the 785 members of the electoral college comprising members of both the Houses of Parliament voted in the election.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *