Two Meghalaya Ministers sacked; two to be sworn in on Friday

Views: 52

Shillong, Aug 3 (IANS) Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma on Thursday removed Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar from his Council of Ministers and announced the induction of two new Ministers.

Sangma called on Governor Banwarilal Purohit at Raj Bhavan here and informed him about his plan to induct Comingone Ymbon and Celestine Lyngdoh as Ministers, a Raj Bhavan official said.

Ymbon and Lyngdoh confirmed to IANS that they will be sworn in at 10.30 a.m. on Friday by Governor Purohit.

Congress sources said Community and Rural Development Minister Prestone Tynsong and Power Minister Sniawbhalang Dhar were sacked from the Congress-led Meghalaya United Alliance government for their “anti-party activities” and their plan to contest as opposition National People’s Party candidates in the 2018 assembly elections.

ALSO READ:   RTI on Modi's BA degree: Activists 'want to prevent wrong interpretation of Act'

“Unofficially, I was informed on Thursday morning about a Cabinet reshuffle, and that I will be replaced by another party member. However, the Chief Minister is yet to communicate to me,” Dhar told IANS on phone.

He refused to comment on the rumoured change-over of his political affiliation.

The sources said the two Ministers were dropped after Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi’s nod in a meeting with Sangma and Meghalaya Congress President D.D. Lapang this week.

On Wednesday, the All India Congress Committee formed a 10-member panel headed by Lapang to try and stop party leaders from joining the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The other members include Mukul Sangma, Deputy Chief Minister R.C. Laloo, Education Minister Deborah Marak, Urban Affairs Minister R.V. Lyngdoh, Public Works Department Minister M.M. Danggo, Urban Affairs Minister R.V. Lyngdoh, and former Speaker Charles Pyngrope.

ALSO READ:   DU teachers, students hold hunger strike against colleges' autonomy



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *