Voting concludes in Goa RS election

Views: 48

Panaji, July 21 (IANS) All 38 MLAs in the Goa assembly on Friday voted for the lone Rajya Sabha seat which falls vacant on July 28.

Bharatiya Janata Party state President Vinay Tendulkar and Congress Rajya Sabha MP Shantaram Naik are the only two contestants.

Goa has a 40-member assembly and it has 38 members, with two by-polls due in August.

BJP legislator Francis D’Souza told reporters that with the Thursday’s presidential election marred by cross-voting, the BJP expected similar cross-voting in the Rajya Sabha poll too.



ALSO READ:   Killer of juvenile hawker arrested
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *