X1 Racing League round 2 on Sunday

Views: 26

Chennai, Dec 7 (IANS) The cream of Indian racing talent, along with their foreign counterparts including three former Formula One drivers, will reassemble at the MMRT here on Sunday for the second round of the path-breaking, franchise-based X1 Racing League.

The three races, scheduled for Sunday, promise high-quality racing with the three ex-F1 drivers, India’s Narain Karthikeyan, Malaysian Alex Yoong and Italian Vitantonio Luizzi, competing against hand-picked racers, both foreign and Indian.

Also in the fray is Gaurav Gill, the three-time FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship winner, WRC2 participant and reigning National rally champion who has also competed in single-seater races in India.

The brain child of two of India’s finest racers, Aditya Patel and Armaan Ebrahim, and promoted by Racing Promotions Private Limited, the X1 Racing League, comprises six city-based teams — Bengaluru, Mumbai, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Hyderabad and Delhi. The first round was held at the Buddh International Circuit, near Delhi, last weekend.

Also on the grid are drivers with a proven track record in Indian championships, such as young guns Yash Aradhya, Sohil Shah, Arjun Datta, Nayan Chatterjee, Anindith Reddy, besides the experienced Ameya Walavalkar, Vishnu Prasad, Raghul Rangasamy, Chittesh Mandody, Karthik Tharani, Arjun Narendran and Arjun Balu.

The foreign talent includes England’s Oliver Webb, Mikkel Jensen from Denmark and Australian Mitch Gilbert, all with exposure to Touring car championships and Formula racing.

Headlining the female talent is England’s 36-year- old Pippa Mann who has been racing internationally for over a decade, including the iconic Indy series in the United States.

The Delhi round of the X1 Racing League saw Bengaluru Racing Stars, comprising Arjun Maini, Webb, Gatting, Chatterjee and Vishnu Prasad, winning two of the four races with Mumbai Falcons (Kush Maini, Jensen, Mann, Shah and Tharani) topping the other two.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *