Saturday, July 13, 2024

Vote count for Telangana Assembly polls begins

Counting of votes polled in the November 30 Telangana Assembly elections began on Sunday morning amid tight security.

Officials said postal ballots were first taken up for counting at 8 a.m. in all the 119 Assembly constituencies.

Chief Electoral Officer Vikas Raj said that the counting began at 8 a.m. at 49 counting centres for all 119 Assembly constituencies.

The Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be opened half-an-hour later and even if the postal ballot counting is not completed, parallel counting will be undertaken.

Police have imposed prohibitory order around the centres and stepped-up security to maintain law and order.

The election authorities have set up 1,798 tables and there will be a total of 2,417 rounds of counting.

According to the Election Commission, 71.34 per cent polling was recorded in the elections held on November 30.

This is about 2 per cent lower than the turnout in 2018 elections.

Out of a total 3,26,02,793 voters, 2,32,59,256 cast their ballots.

In the 2018 elections, Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) had bagged 88 seats, while Congress had won 19 seats.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular